No.X.11035/25/2015-DFQC Government of India Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Department of Health & Family Welfare (Drugs Regulation Section)

Nirman Bhawan, New Delhi, Dated 30th August, 2018

<u>ORDER</u>

Subject:- Constitution of Central Expert Committee to determine the quantum of compensation in respect of faulty ASR Hip Implants manufactured by M/s DePuy International Limited, U.K. and implanted in India-reg.

Whereas a committee under the Chairmanship of Dr. Arun Kumar Aggarwal on the above subject has given its report which has been accepted by the Central Government with certain modifications. Now, the Central Government has decided to constitute a Central Expert Committee to determine the quantum of compensation, as admissible under the law, in respect of faulty ASR Hip Implants manufactured by M/s DePuy International Limited, U.K. and implanted in India. The Committee shall comprise the following:

S.No.	Name & Designation	
(i)	Dr. R.K. Arya, Director, Sports Injury Center, Safdurjung Hospitai, New Delhi	Chairperson
(ii)	Dr. C.S. Yadav, Department of Orthopaedics, AlIMS, New Delhi	Member
(111)	Dr. Vineet Sharma, HOD, Department of Orthopedics, KGMU, Lucknow	Member
(iii) (iv)	Dr. Bikas Medhi, Professor, Pharmacology, PGIMER, Chandigarn	Member
(v)	Shri Bushan Tilak Kaul, Professor of Law, Delhi University, New Delhi.	Member

2. The Terms of Reference of the Committee will be as follows:-

To review the report of State Level Committee or the applications submitted by affected patients and recommend quantum of compensation, as admissible under appropriate law, and medical management, if any, based on criteria suggested in the Dr. Arun Kumar Aggarwal Committee report subject to the modifications accepted by the Central Government. (A copy of the said report and modifications therein is at Appendix).

File No.X.11035/25/2015-DFQC

3. The committee shall submit its recommendation to the Central Drugs Standard Control Organization (CDSCO) within 45 Days from the date of receipt of report from respective State Level Committee.

4. The Committee may co-opt any other member and invite other experts to assist it in the examination of the matter.

5. TA/DA of the outstation members/experts will be borne by the CDSCO.

Encl: A/a



Under Secretary to the Govt. of India Tele:-23063019

To:

The Chairperson and all Members of the Committee.

٩

Copy to:

1. DCG (I)-with request for arranging meetings and communications with the committee.

2. PS to HFM / PS to MoS (AKC)/PS to MoS (AP)/PPS to Secretary(HFW) / PPS to DGHS / PS to AS&DG (CGHS) / PPS to JS (R)/Dir (D)
